Dual Processor PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2003, 03:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dude521
Default Dual Processor PC

Is this Idea a waste of Time or worth your money???

well here is a combo:
2x AMD Athlon MP 2200+ CPUs
Tyan Tiger MP S2460 dual Athlon motherboard

Dude521 is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141

Well.. Tom's Hardware asked that same question. Here is a link to their writeup.


As you can see, the dual processor doesn't offer any significant advantages and they mention that the ONLY game that supports dual processor operation is Quake. Everything else will run at really close (if not slower) on a dual system, and may be unstable because the hardware isn't supported by the game.

All in all, unless you are looking for serious prestige among your peers in the computer geek arena (I'm a computer geek so I can say that, lol.) or have big rendering or video file conversion to do then you would probably be better of with just a faster single processor and lots of Ram. (not to mention a snazzy case with some lights and a solid game system underneath impresses the technoweenies just as much, lol)


Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

Dude521....I just came upon a Tyan 2460 mobo....I have only one processor for it though (do I need both for it to work?) How do you like the mobo....has it worked out for you at all? Any feed back would be appreciated. I heard that the ATX connectors tend to burn out from trying to pull too much power. Have any problems with yours? Like I said any and all info on this mobo would be appreciated.
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432

Why not just get a P4 with Hyper-Threading??? It acts as two processors and you can see signiifcant gains when multitasking

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.