dual processers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default dual processers

i was just pondering about and it hit me..when you have 2 processors, say, dual xeons like 2.8's would it turn out to be a 5.6? if so then ill be the fastest gamer of all time with dual 3.0 xeons..peace..post back
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

nope doesnt work like that. dual cpus is a very tricky subject. and one i know very little about, but i know that intels arent as good for gaming as AMD and if ur gonna spend that much on a system u might aswel get a FX55, cos that is the best gaming cpu out atm.

i can see ur an intel man but have u considered a amd system? if u jump down ur graphics card to a 6800GT and get a fx55 with the money then overclock the graphics card to ultra speeds ur laughing. If u do some research before you buy ul find this will be the best way to go please dont flame me just tryin to offer advice
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

yeah everyone says amd is the best way to go for gaming, but i read on some site or somewhere a while ago that p4's give away a little more performance than amd for a bigger price, and what about for both school work and gaming? what do i go for..xeon.. p4 extreme or an amd athlon 64 fx-55?
__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

well i think the p4 extremes are a waste of money tbh. i would go for teh fx55 any day cos i dont know anything about the xeons. for gaming the fx55 is the best out there, for school work, depending on whatur doin be in word prossesing or making videos makes it more for each chip. if just word and stuff any would do, if ur doin alot of video stuff then the p4s usually win, but the amds arent far behind. If u wanna spend that much on a system the fx55 is the only way to go imho
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

[flame suit] p4's are a waste of money [/flame suit]

The reason why dualies are not soo good in gaming is because of the increased latency the CPU's have. Also, intel's are laggy from the start, which doesnt help at all.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

You will not really reach the overhead of your cpu in anything today. With either a FX-55 or a Xeon. I would recommend the FX-55 as well. Getting two Xeon's would be cool, but sadly it would be mostly pointless. Those things are made for servers I believe, they would not be as useful for everyday stuff.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The FX-55 will outperform any Intel processor right now, no questions asked. This includes Intel favoured applications such as Video Editing, Image Rendering, and other mathematical processes.

Even if you want to compare dual Xeons or Opterons, the price/performance ratio just doesn't compare, the FX-55 is the best processor for its value at the moment.

This doesn't even account for overclocking, I assume you could pump that puppy up the 3Ghz fairly easily. That thing would just be untouchable. :P
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Not that I disbelieve you at all, in fact I rather agree, but can you throw some links up?
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

No problemo.

http://www.tbreak.com/reviews/article.php?id=335
http://techreport.com/reviews/2004q4...5/index.x?pg=1
http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid...=expert&pid=10
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2004...4_4000-08.html

Of course yet again there's really not much of a difference between the high end Intels and AMDs in the application benchmarks, but if you are a gamer, the FX-55 just simply wipes the floor with them.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default

what would be the cheapest price for an fx55, cuz i know they are expensive, i just want the cheapest price i can get, im switching to amd,lol
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.