Dual Power Supplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default Dual Power Supplies

OK,

I'm trying to make two power supplies work on a motherboard that's designed to only take one. I'm thinking that if I solder pins 14 and 15 together(Power on switch) then the power supplies will both turn on when you press the power button. This is just an idea but has anybody else tried something similar or does anybody has any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Why would you want to do that. It sounds like it would work... theoretically. You could invest into a 700watt, that should give more than enough power. Just sell the one you have now, make up for some of the cost.

P.S. Did you raise your voltage for your OC?
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

no,

Left everything stock, but it's no longer overclocked. Maybe, if I can get these fans running in my new case, I'll overclock it.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

cool.
So how big is your PSU now?
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Right now, it's 350 watts but I'm planning on buying a 770 watt. I know, a little overkill but oh well.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The51
Right now, it's 350 watts but I'm planning on buying a 770 watt. I know, a little overkill but oh well.
Any chance you could throw me a link to 770 Watt PSU you are planning on?
Thanx
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Can't seem to find it right now.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I was thinking about this too, have one psu for the mb and drives, and have the other for fans and everything extra. but then there is the problem of having both power up togther.

Any one have any ideas how to do this?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

That's what I was thinking of too, one 500 watt for mobo and dual 6800 GT's, and on for everything, and I can just unplug what I don't want thanks to ultra's X-Connect...
Later
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 04:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I was thinking about this two, have one psu for the mb and drives, and have the other for fans and everything extra. but then there is the problem of having both power up togther.

Any one have any ideas how to do this?
Yeah you'd simply need to make one of the PSU's a 'test psu' and to find out what I mean there hit up www.casemodgod.com and their 'How To' section and look for 'making a test PSU' basically it's instructions on how to create a PSU that just turns on without the motherboard, no doubt if you simply rewired the two wires you disconnect to turn it into a 'test psu' in the first place and rewire them to the same wires on the working PSU, it'd turn on both, or so my theory goes
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.