dual pci express for amd coming soon! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2004, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default dual pci express for amd coming soon!

hahah, its a week old, but its still good news . . .

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/chipset...813034208.html

VIA K8T890 will have single pci express x16 and K8T890 PRO will have dual . . .

the Pro should be mass produced in september, while the regular should be mass produced in Q4 . . .

and for those of you who wanna upgrade your mobo but wanna stay with your beloved AGP cards and DDR RAM . . . http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/chipset...201182440.html

so its basically 2x PCI EXPRESS x16 or 8xAGP/PCIEXPRESSx16 . . .
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah Ive seen alienware and nvidias plans to make dual PCI-Express motherboards. Can you imagine two 256mb 6800 Ultras working together? Sheesh, incredibleness. If you can't pack anymore power into one card I guess make your motherboard use two is what they figure huh?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, voodoo used SLI, and thats what the nVidia 6 series has. . .

just basically look at a pci express 6 series, and on the opposite side of the pci express slot thing, look for the sli port
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

just imagine the performance on . . . say . . . DOOM 3! 1600x1200 with ALL HIGHEST SETTINGS!

2x 6800GT or Ultra

i wonder if you can do "quad monitors"
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

also . . . 560w power supplies would be NECESSARY!!!
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

probably much larger power supply, but yeah they said basically its meant to feed on demanding graphics, the higher you turn on the graphics and try to tax the system the better it works, its pretty co0
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

hahah it would cause a blackout in the rest of your neighborhood
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

I am confused here... Two PCI-E on one motherboard? Is it really necessary to have two video cards running on PCI-E for one system? Is there something I am missing?

Thx
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Damn my Avatar is hot...
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

haha agex, and yea, 2 vid card two pcie in 1 pc will cost $$$ but it could be nice i guess, for the spoiled brats Id hafta save up my allowance for bout 10 years to get something like that.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.