Dual Monitors with GeForce 6600GT: Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2005, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default Dual Monitors with GeForce 6600GT: Questions

I have an easy question... Is is possible to configure a 6600GT to put out Dual video, a VGA to 17" CRT, and an S-VIdeo to Composite to 21" TV, and have each with different resolutions? And if so, how? Will I need to do it from the windows diplay options, or use NVidia software?

Note: The setup is allready done, I just need to know how to have two different resolutions.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I don't think it'll do different resolutions for each screen, but I've never even tried setting it up that way before. Because the only option I know of is, that you can select 'Extend Desktop' but then theres no seperate resolution options, but hey if you figure it out, let us know
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

No. Dual monitors can't display at different resolutions (I know because I've tried doing it myself ).

But let us know how you get on with Monitor/TV combo though; I'm thinking of doing the same myself and I'd be interesting to see how it looks...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

I got it to do it. Used NTune.

All you need to do is right click on the desktop, select NVidia Displays, and select the particular display you want to change. Changing the resolution iin this manor works on only that display, rather than if you just opened it from the Display box, or the Toolbox.

Maybe that will help someone else.

The TV/CRT combo is pretty neat. I can watch a movie on the larger TV screen (it will be even better when I can get Nero to properly rip my DVDs), and do pretty much anything on the other. For some reason, I cannot play complicated games and do something else on the other screen: perhaps because the game is taking up to much of the Video Cards resources. I'm going to tinker around with settings: perhaps if I lower resolution, it will work.

Thanks for everyones inputs.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The games take up ALL your system resources. You can't expect to play games AND do stuff on the other monitor. Unless it's solitair or minefield of course
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Alot of games dont allow you to do anything in the second monitor either.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Ah nuts.

Thanks anyway.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 10:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 92
Default

Theory is right.
i did the same thing
__________________

crashman009 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.