Dual monitors??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2002, 04:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7
Default Dual monitors???

Whats the deal with dual monitors? What do i need to set another one up?


Donny is offline  
Old 08-04-2002, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

For the business users - for displaying media, content and business info while concentrating on another task with another monitor.

Most video cards now ship with dual-outputs for dual-monitor display; so check out the electronics store for that.

Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-06-2002, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

As geforce said, most recent video cards ship with a VGA connector and a DVI connector... in order to use dual monitors, you need a DVI to VGA adaptor (unless you have a fancy LCD monitor )..

the other option is to throw in another video card. If you already have an AGP card, you can probably pick up a crappy PCI card for cheap... but it's probably not really worth it, unless you need to have a huge desktop (like 2048x768 or something)
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-21-2002, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7

to do a relatively cheap dual monitor setup, the ATI Radion 7500 is a good solution

It has everything you need in the box and has very easy to use setup utilities.

With a dual monitor setup, you can have each monitor running at a different resolution, refresh rate and color depth.

If you tend to have multiple programs open and flip between them alot, then a multi monitor setup would be a benefit.

The computer will most likely "remember" which application runs in which window... for example, I have a small 17" screen which I use as a second monitor... and when I lauch email, it always opens full screen on the smaller monitor.. which photoshop always opens on the bigger screen.

You can also span a single application over both monitors, however, unless both screens are the same size have a very small bezel (the plastic that surrounds the screen, you will not find the application very usable.
jhaley is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.