Dual Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2003, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Question Dual Monitors

I was wondering if my Leadtek GeForce4 Ti 4600 WinFast A250 Ultra(heh, too long of a name) would support dual monitors, if I got an adaptor for the DVI out?

I doubt it would since it says nothing about dual monitors in the manual and nothing on the website. But I can always hope! If that doesn't work, does anyonw have any recommendations on a dual monitor setup?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

facelessmime is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Not sure on the card, but if you install a second Video card in a Win2k or XP box, you have Dual desktops right away. Only problem is that the second card has to be PCI so there is some lose there. One the Card, unless otherwise noted, you will get the same desktop twice. If you can find a reference for Dual diplays, then you should be able to have two independent screens. I didn't think that Nvidia did that, but then I have been found wrong a few times...
ATI cards have this ability in the Radeon Line of cards. The only problem I have found is when gaming, you have to reduce to one display cause it takes too much power from the GPU.
Hope this helps...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Talking

If I put in a PCI video card and hooked a monitor to it, would it be a copy of my current desktop, or would it be another independent workspace? I need all the workspace I can get my hands onto.
facelessmime is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 04:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

some video cards have 2 outputs to a monitor, this is the same thing as having 2 video cards. FYI it is called 'multiple monitor'. this is supported by the operating system and not the video card itself.

winXP supports up to 8 monitors i was told. multiple monitors allows you to extend your desktop to another monitor. you could play a game on one monitor and use MS word to write up an essay. the monitors act as 1 very long screen. i think there is also an option to clone the screen output to other monitors.

if you want to output to a television your video card must have some sort of video output to SVCD or RCA
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 04:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Cool. Thanks for the tip. It will be a lot easier with one graphics card. I will hook up a second monitor to the DVI out on my GeForce4 when I get a chance to see if it works. Which it should.

-Brian
facelessmime is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.