Dual Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default Dual Monitors

Ok, so I know about KVM and dual output video cards, but what is the best way to simply and inexpensively split two monitors from a single source. I don't mind losing quality. This is only for one of my rebuilt comps that I only use to play and power my surround sound stereo. I have monitors set up for visuals on either side of the unit, but can only use one. Please help!
__________________

bru8002 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Get a dual output video card, most of the ones over past year do it.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ya, i know that, but i need something inexpensive.
bru8002 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

your best bet it to get a 6600gt or a 6800 XFX they have dual DVi only $164 on newegg.com
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Can you not use an old PCI graphics card to power the second monitor?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CJJohnson
Can you not use an old PCI graphics card to power the second monitor?
yea but you will have problems itys buggy.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

I have never tried it, but as long as you have the main Video card set up to run 1st in the bios (ie use AGP on startup) and use the latest drivers/OS then it shouldn't be too difficult. This is how many older dual screen systems work.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well true but from other people on this forum have said its buggy, me im getting a new vga that has dual DVi so i dont have to have to vga cards.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Hey, these are computers, nothings simple or guaranteed. I agree that a dual output card is better and easier but bru8002 is on a budget and may even have a box of old bits (if he's anything like me). I'm assuming he isn't going to be running anything too intensive on the dual screen.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well all i know is if he card get his hands on a vodoo card they are old but they are one on the best for this.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.