Dual Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2004, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default Dual Monitors

I have a radeon 9800 xt and was wondering if dual monitor support is really worth it? I already have another monitor but i still need to get the adapter to let the vga connect to the dvi. any way is it really all that great? or should i for get the idea of wasting 10 bucs on an adapter.
__________________

Dell XPS is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you do realize you physically need a second monitor right? it's up to you whether you think you need all that extra work space
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Personally .. i use the dual monitor option a lot .. I find it very useful for somany things ..
U don't need to keep switching windows etc..
I thought the DVI to Vga adapter always shipped along with most of the new display cards
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to sutty777
Default

Some of my friends and I have set up a PC with 10 monitors just to play Unreal Tournament. It took alot of time, cards, and monitors, along with drivers. You are using Win2K correct? It was great when we could finally play. You could just look at any monitor instead of using the mouse looking feature. Pretty cool option.
sutty777 is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Roo
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 339
Send a message via AIM to Roo Send a message via Yahoo to Roo
Default

I use dual monitors. Comes in VERY handy.

























(You can look at 2 porn sites at once )
Roo is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

after spending almost $500 on your vid card, 10 bucks for the adapter should be nothing
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Roo
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 339
Send a message via AIM to Roo Send a message via Yahoo to Roo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D4RK GR4YL3N
after spending almost $500 on your vid card, 10 bucks for the adapter should be nothing
The adapter should have came with the card. After paying $500 for a video card i would have a hard time buying the adapter. Just because I shouldnt have too.
Roo is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I tend to look at the future when it comes down to getting computer gear. You never know when your situation might change.

Like with the way that TFTs are out selling CRTs, I think it might be a good idea for you to spend the extra mony on a video card with dual monitor support.

A most quality video cards are coming with that adapter any ways. If they don't, then kill the person that sold the video card to you as it's obvoius that he is keepiing it for himself to sell seperately to make another $10.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

BTW, having Dual Monitor rock!

I find it a easy for me to use at work when updating price list at work
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.