Dual Monitor problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2004, 04:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Dual Monitor problems

I had to reformat recently and since then i have not been able to get my secondary monitor to work in Windows XP. My Radeon driver mistakes the secondary monitor for a YPbPr device, whatever that is, and will not recognize it as a monitor. Before, all i had to do is plug it in and now nothing works, and everything i try screws it up so bad it requres a safe-mode system restore. How can I get this secondary monitor working?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Hum, what radeon graphics card do you have?
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Mayyyyyybe the one in his sig?
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Somebody post something helpful please. My Radeon driver is detecting my second monitor as a big screen TV, i got it working for a short while, then it quit.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Assuming you have the latest drivers...

How far along are you in the reformat/reinstall? Depending on the situation, I would probably just try reinstalling again and see if it changes anything.

If so, remember to install everything in the best order:
-OS,
-Service Packs,
-Chipset drivers
-DirectX
-Video drivers
-Other hardware drivers
-Other windows updates

I think thats the order...

... that is, if you don't already do this. I do know you can have installation clashes sometimes, which might contribute to the problems...

Anyways, good luck.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i heard about something from ati called "hydravision"

i think its on the site

do you wanna try that?

i dunno if it'll work with an x800 or not . . .

but its worth a try
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I've tried all those things. It still recognizes my monitor as a big-screen TV.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

what kind of monitor is it?

and how are you connecting it?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Its an AOC Spectrum 7Glr standard 17 inch connecting through a VGA-DVI connector. It worked before the reformat so there is no reason it shouldn't be working now.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

OK, I've tried different monitor drivers and even tried the Omega drivers for my ATI card, and nothing works. Somebody that knows something about dual monitor configurations on ATI cards please help me out.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.