Dual Monitor...need some suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2014, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 86
Default Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

So I have a unique setup. I am seeing up a dual monitor set up in a court room. The computer is on one side of the rom and the 2nd monitor is on the other side of the room, not facing the user of the computer. The reason for the 2nd monitor is to display a scanned image of a citation so an officer can testify in court. The computer is operated by the city attorney. I did some research when installing the setup and the most cost effective solution was VGA over Cat5 using an adapter.

Amazon.com: eForCity 390911 2 Black VGA Extender Adapter To CAT5/CAT6/RJ45 Cable: Electronics

Well I finally was able to install the monitors and computer today and an issue popped up. Although the 2nd monitor works, the computer doesn't recognize it a the same type of monitor as monitor 1 and will not allow the same resolution to be set. This is causing the resolution to be set extremely low on both monitors to the point were text is unreadable. I can't use and extended monitor setup because I can't see the 2nd monitor so the user will not be able to see what is up on the screen for the officer.

Is there anything else that I can try to get this to work? It has to be over cat 5 because construction is done and it is impossible to run another cable and the distance made it very expensive to run HDMI or VGA anyway. BTW, the 2nd monitor is being output via display port to vga adapter. Would one of these solve my problem?

Amazon.com: Tripp Lite VGA over Cat5 / Cat6 Extender, Transmitter and Receiver with EDID Copy, 1920x1440 at 60Hz(B130-101-2): Electronics
__________________

NOLACop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

Have you looked into wireless HDMI?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 09:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 86
Default Re: Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

No I didn't. Never heard of that before. What does it use for the wireless signal? Radio, WiFi?
NOLACop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

5Ghz wifi and should be fine for your application.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 86
Default Re: Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

Can you give me a link to a wireless HDMI setup that I could use? I have no idea what I am looking for when it comes to a setup like this.

thanks
NOLACop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Dual Monitor...need some suggestions

There is probably a more refined solution, but this is a good example.

http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-GW3DHDK...xp_grid_pt_0_0
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some suggestions for a new Budget Gaming monitor for XBox 360. Joed740 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-25-2014 11:23 AM
Non-Dual, Dual Monitor? Solaxys New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-08-2009 02:31 PM
Ok need some help, might need some explaining not as experienced as some Asianyeti New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-18-2008 04:44 PM
How to turn your dual-monitor PC into a dual mac-PC system Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 3 10-15-2005 08:32 AM
Need some RAM suggestions Him Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 05-19-2005 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.