dual monitor help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2004, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default dual monitor help

ok here is what happened i wanted to have 2 monitors on my computer and i had an old PCI video card layin around so i put the PCI card in my computer along with my AGP card and booted my computer. windows recognized that i had installed new hardware and my second video card was now working and i had 2 monitors. Now here is my problem my PCI card is crappy and my bios defaults it to my primary display driver. so i went into my bios and defaulted my AGP card to the default and now i can only get one monitor to work and when i go into device manager i get a message on my PCI card that says "This device cannot start. (Code 10)"

just wondering if anyone has any ides that i can try. oh by the way i have alreayd uninstalled the drivers and reinstalled them with no luck.

ComputernOOb123 is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183

man that sux i just set up dual monitors also but im not gettin any errers. lol uhh ill try to look up some stuff fo you maybe a motherboard prob??? hoe old is yo mobo?

intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527

No real advice but just keep messin around with it. Only some of the time does 2 video cards work correcty to begin with. I would say uninstall agp video card then install pci card then reinstall agp card. To do this you might want to make sure all your drivers are deleted.
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2

thanks for the thoughts guys im gonna keep messin around with settings.
ComputernOOb123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.