Dual Layer DVDs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default Dual Layer DVDs?

I noticed that they are FINALY introducing dual layer (9GB) DVD burners. What type of media do these drives take? Sony has a 2.4x DL DVD Burner but I can't seem to figure out if it takes a special type of DVD to burn 9GB. Anyways, if you know something, post it
__________________

__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you have to have special media
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

you need to have a dual layer dvd (dvd+r9)

i would wait a while

right now, speed are at 2.4x

they should be at 4x in the fall

and 8x by february
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

koldapu, have u bought the AMD already? or planning?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by f1fanatic
My golfing buddy just bought a pack of dual layer dvdr disc and it was almost 120 bucks.
f1fanatic which website or store did he buy it from and how many did he get for $120?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 04:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

yea there are like $159 over here in australia.
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 04:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Whoa! :amazed: no kidding, that's ridiculous. btw i think 8.5 GB only equals about 8GB of real storage because DVD9 is supposed to be only 8GB I'm sure.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.