Dual LAN? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Dual LAN?

What is the purpose of having TWO Ethernet connections on your PC?
__________________

__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Dual LAN?

for managing two connections for two different networks or two connections for one network
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Re: Dual LAN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
for managing two connections for two different networks or two connections for one network

sorry to sound retarded, but can you please elaborate. Two separate networks? Under what situation (s) would someone have two separate networks? also, what about two connections for one network?
__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Dual LAN?

one application is to use one computer as a router. it has one connection coming in for the internet and another going out to share the connection with other computers.

not sure on the other applications
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Dual LAN?

ok heres an example of a dual network:

You work for a company in a certain section your department has a main switch for an internal network between the local computers within your section for file sharing. The company has a larger building wide network which provides services like the internet so you need to have both networks working simultaneously.... Maybe you use your computer as an extender for the network so you use a wireless access point connected to the spare ethernet port and your other port is connected to the network
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Dual LAN?

then what are quad lan ports used for?
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Dual LAN?

more of the same.... your talking about servers now it is more a luxury to have multiple lan ports they're not essential except in servers. the average home usage would be a network extender
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Dual LAN?

There is something called Network Load Ballancing... Or something like that, can't really remember, anyways you can have more than one connection to a network from the same machine, but the advantage of this is so that one connection is busy, your machine and the others on the network will use the 2nd or 3rd and so on or which ever one is least busy, that or it will use multiple ports at the same time to transfer a extremly large file rather quickly. Most homes didn't have a need for networks a long time ago, now most homes have a network, I guess the engineers see that people may want this option later...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
dual channel lower clock? Rich_Franklin Overclocking and Modding 4 05-29-2007 08:57 PM
Dual booting XP and Windows Vista squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-22-2007 10:24 AM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.