Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2009, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Question Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

I have dual gigabit ports on my 790i mobo. Can someone tell me why I have two of these? Is it supposed to give some sort of advantage if I connect them both rather than just using one? Thanks in advance.
__________________

PH3N0M is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

i think it's just so you can use your computer as a sorta-kinda modem type thing :\
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

For the most part, it's a marketing gimmick for home users. You'd get the real benefit of having two ethernet ports, if you're looking at it on a server level.

And no, it does not increase internet speed if you connect both. That's where the gimmick part comes in I guess. Most people would think, "ooo...There's two internet ports. Now I can have double the speed".
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

connect one computer to the other for personal LAN games?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
connect one computer to the other for personal LAN games?
You could do that. But with more than two computers, that would be slower than having an actual switch or router...because I think specific info going to a specific computer has to travel through all the computers first until it got to it's destination.
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dual-Gigabit ports on the nForce 790i Ultra SLI

The most common home use would be ICS (Internet Connection Sharing).

Or in my case when one craps out on you.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to a Newer Motherboard - Advice Needed Shyam Bhat New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-03-2008 10:56 AM
What Motherboard for my High Performance computer???? Jethro69 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-27-2008 04:24 PM
Seemingly complex motherboard question. Macalano System Upgrades 5 09-23-2008 05:09 PM
PC locks up within 2-3 minutes after booting using Dual Channel memory. CPZ12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-17-2008 04:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.