DUAL cpu or SINGLE - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2004, 01:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

He's probably only able to barely come and post on these forums
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 05:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

this forum runs very very smooth compared to other forums!

My computer is very fast compared to other 200's i've seen!! maybe it's because of the RAM or because its a very high-end mobo?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 07:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Dual is great but VERY expensive!!
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 03:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

its just funny that you've overclocked your 200MHz to 225 lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 03:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

maybe I will overclock to 250!! that's the highest possible according to my mobo-manual

that will be ULTRA-fast!!! LOL
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

thats too extreme themajor such an extreme overclock may destroy the earth
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Dual processing was very cool back in the days of the P3 and P2s. Today though, it's not what it was. The only Dual proc that do anything reliably well are the Xeons and they are way expensive. AMD has thier dual systems, but every Dual AMD put together that i have seen has had troubles. But that has been a while now. The new Opterons are supposed to be pretty amazing, but I thought I saw something about them all going to single and the 64's moving on with dual and quad possible down the road. But I could be mistaken.
anyway, the Dual processing systems that I have used, P2 and P3's have all done very well. Dual processor boards tend to be higher end then the single and have more server like options. Comppaies like SuperMicro and Tyan are the best when it comes to Dual, as they pay close attention to every detail and provide awsome support software for the boards.
As to actuall performance, Running 2k and XP you will see a large imporvement on most things. Business apps all use Dual instructions now, as the original dual, Pentium Pro, paved the way for it. A lot of games have Dual instructions too, but they just don't talk about it much anymore as it has kind of dissapeared behind the GHZ bandwagon. Although, with the release of the P4 with Multi-threading the Dual systems are looking less and less needed.
I still run a Dual 1.26 p3 system (2.52 combined) that kicks the crap out of the 3.2HT system I play my games on. Now this is with running Autocad 3d renders and doing FlashMX and 3ds max stuff. Also, I can re-encode video about 4x faster on the dual system as compaired to the 3.2HT. So it kind of depends on what you are wanting to do with the system I guess.

Hope the helps you. I know I rambled a little...
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

LOL..but it would be 25% of the original 200MHz...this MUST be considered "extreme OC'ing"!!!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
Dual processing was very cool back in the days of the P3 and P2s. Today though, it's not what it was. The only Dual proc that do anything reliably well are the Xeons and they are way expensive. AMD has thier dual systems, but every Dual AMD put together that i have seen has had troubles. But that has been a while now. The new Opterons are supposed to be pretty amazing, but I thought I saw something about them all going to single and the 64's moving on with dual and quad possible down the road. But I could be mistaken.
anyway, the Dual processing systems that I have used, P2 and P3's have all done very well. Dual processor boards tend to be higher end then the single and have more server like options. Comppaies like SuperMicro and Tyan are the best when it comes to Dual, as they pay close attention to every detail and provide awsome support software for the boards.
As to actuall performance, Running 2k and XP you will see a large imporvement on most things. Business apps all use Dual instructions now, as the original dual, Pentium Pro, paved the way for it. A lot of games have Dual instructions too, but they just don't talk about it much anymore as it has kind of dissapeared behind the GHZ bandwagon. Although, with the release of the P4 with Multi-threading the Dual systems are looking less and less needed.
I still run a Dual 1.26 p3 system (2.52 combined) that kicks the crap out of the 3.2HT system I play my games on. Now this is with running Autocad 3d renders and doing FlashMX and 3ds max stuff. Also, I can re-encode video about 4x faster on the dual system as compaired to the 3.2HT. So it kind of depends on what you are wanting to do with the system I guess.

Hope the helps you. I know I rambled a little...

COOL!...are there any socket7 dual mobo's?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 05:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my advice to anyone that wants a dual CPU system is to get the opterons, they can process 64-bit, and are extremely powerful. you won't need to upgrade for maybe 5 years.
if a dual P3 1.2 can kick the crap out of a P4 3.2, what can a dual 1.8/2GHZ Opteron do?
the opterons, like the athlons can perform better clock for clock than a P4, so a single 1.8GHZ Opteron is roughly equivalent to a P4 2.8GHZ
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.