Dual CPU Question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2004, 05:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

adobe premier pro 1.5 takes advantage of multiprocessor systems as well as HT
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

heh, oops meant to say virtual memory and not physical memory
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:03 PM   #23 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ok

btw. adobe GoLive also takes advantage of HT and dualCPU
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yep, but dual proc is the better way to go if it takes advantage of it.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

the best way to go is dual HT CPU's
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 07:07 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

true
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 08:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

i saw a mobo that allows 8gb of ram max, however it only had 4 slots, dunno how that works out, doesn't 64 bit support like 16gb of ram and 16TB of virtual memory... or am i talkin outta my *** again(damn those ace ventura impressions)
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 08:33 PM   #28 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

32bit=4GB RAM and 64bit=8GB RAM
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

you sure its not a bigger leap than that? 16 bit to 32 bit was a big leap was it not, actually just looked, if you use 64 bit XP then it supports 32GB of ram
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:17 PM   #30 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

where did u get that info?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.