Dual CPU Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 08:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

um... dang, hate to say it but I'd have to disagree with this one Here is the reason. Cost wise. Get a high end P4, I'm not sure what it is but lets say a 3.2 Ghz... last time priced about 3 months ago was around $800-$900 for the extreme. Then 2 Xeon at 2.8Ghz run around $650-$700. So, cost its better. Here is the biggie, though. What he is using it for (graphic design, vid editing, autocad maybe??), most of these SUPPORT dual processors thus making the application run MUCH faster. If it didn't support dual procs, then I'd be inclined to agree, but since vid editing and maybe design is involved and much of the advanced edit software can utilize the benefits of dual, then YES, go for dual processors.... NOT a single.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Just a little note...
To my knowledge, no mainstream PC computer can support 24 gigs of RAM. The Mac world has Mac computers that run 8gigs or more, but I have yet to see a mainstream PC that supports more than 4 gigs.

The only machines I've laid my hands on that have more than 6 gigs of RAM (not including macs) are the MPUs I sometimes handle at work, and the ones at Goddard.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Just a little note...
To my knowledge, no mainstream PC computer can support 24 gigs of RAM.
Yeah cause its not mainstream its meant for servers lol. Here's the link:

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...FA4R&class=spd

That's a dual opteron 24gb max memory server board with gigabit lan and onboard ATI Rage XL Graphics.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 10:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

or for CGI. check out the WildCat Realism 800. Also, SQL eats memory up big time.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 01:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 85
Default

I'll most likly be using Adobe Premier. Does this software support dual-proc's?

Thanks for all the help everybody ;-]
ayenem is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 02:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I could definitely see how a MySQL database would eat up memory fast especially if you had loads of people accessing it. Were you saying that that board I posted wasn't for CGI? Why would it have an ATI Rage XL onboard graphics card then? [I'm not saying that like NAH YOU'RE WRONG!, I'm just seriously asking]
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:04 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
I'll most likly be using Adobe Premier. Does this software support dual-proc's?
Dunno...But I'd be willing to be it's in the doco somewhere.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 12:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah cause its not mainstream its meant for servers lol. Here's the link:

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...FA4R&class=spd

That's a dual opteron 24gb max memory server board with gigabit lan and onboard ATI Rage XL Graphics.
Thats almost too much memory.....hahahahahahahahahahahaha
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 05:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

lol, no I'm not saying that board wouldn't be good. was saying these new CGI pro cards are now taking SERIOUS advantage of memory. 512 VRAM, with additional 128 meg for geo and command string storage (directburst memory)... this is all on the card, plus the card ITSELF takes advantage of 64bit systems and get this... can utilize up to 256GB of virtual memory on 64bit systems!!! I know this is virtual memory and not page swap, but with those memory requirements, CGI is in facea memory hog. The ATI Rage XL though is a mid line graphics card so wouldn't be to good with CGI, but would be perfectly fine on SQL.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 05:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
I know this is virtual memory and not page swap
What's the difference?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.