dual cpu motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default dual cpu motherboard?

why is it better? does it use both processors at once so it would run 2ce the speed? but play off 1 monitor or whatever?
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Two CPU's tend to be better than one and are mainly used in servers and high end PC's that run heavey load applications.

On servers, the load placed upon them is divided by 2 [ 2 CPUs ] meaning the server can process more information at any given time. So technicaly you have twice the speed.

In desktop PC's, the 2 CPUs are not always taken advantage of, only some applications are able to use both CPUs at the same time.

They still work on a single monitor, dual monitor systems are controlled by your graphics card rather than your CPU.
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

so if i was playing a game i may not be able to idalize both cpu's?
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I don't think that there is any game out today that can have both cpu's working for the game. one cpu will be on the game, the other on background tasks. It will help, but not alot. but you could listen to music in the background, and still have the same amount of fps :P
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Most games do not support SMP (symetrical multi processing). But you will se a small increase in preformance. You can make 1 CPU handle all of the windows and other backround tasks while your other CPU is dedicated just to the game. This is called affinity management. But most high end programs like the autodesk series,maya, and Adobe series programs take advantage of both CPU's and you get a huge performance increase.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

depends on the OS, windows even with SMP support doesnt migrate threads unless the software is written for it I dont think

other OS's will automatically let multiple threads migrate to another CPU
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.