Dual Core Processing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Inferior
Default Dual Core Processing?

I was wondering. Does Dual Core Processors come with two processors? Or is it like 2 Processors in one chip. Also, how do you know if your motherboard will fit the case? I am building a computer, and before I order I want to know first. Im building a AMD Computer. I don't know if I got all the right stuff and all. I'm more like a Rookie or Amatuer in building computers.
__________________

Inferior is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

A dual core processor in a chip with two cores built into the die. You have one chip, one processor, but with two cores operating independently within it. Any ATX case will fit an ATX board, same with BTX, AT, Micro ATX etc.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 08:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Any ATX case will fit an ATX board, same with BTX, AT, Micro ATX etc.
Stick with ATX. Keep your life simple and buy a case that says ATX and a motherboard that fits ATX. All ATX variations will fit, i.e. ATX micro.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

ATX sucks and is highly outdated, as well as BTX is not that great either, power has to be changed.

What Gaara said is true, but any mATX board will fit an ATX case as well.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

exactly... mATX is a variation... They're compatible. I don't see how the shape of the motherboard and screw placement can outdate unless something completely revolutionizes how every component is shaped.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

bro just check the form factors to know if it will fit. and gaara is right about the dual core. couldnt have put it better myself
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
ATX sucks and is highly outdated, as well as BTX is not that great either, power has to be changed.

Haha, so what would you suggest he goes with then?
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

^^^ Yeah, seriously.

Something sucks and is outdated just because its been around a long time?
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.