dual core cpu's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2007, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default dual core cpu's

ok i am kind of after knowing about these things

the thing i know about these is there 2 chips in one now i am not into the hardware that much that i could make sense of the technical side of it so here i am asking some one to explain the in's and out's of these in dunce tearms

so a total novice can understand

thanks
__________________

solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: dual core cpu's

Dual core processors, have two cores in them. It is now the standard for CPUs, since more and more applications are supporting multi-core CPUs. The advantage over single core processors, is obviously multi-tasking.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: dual core cpu's

you may not see a difference in games if you upgraded from a high end athlon or pentium 4 but as B1 said you would in running multiple applications
Nick is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: dual core cpu's

ok i am guessing there going to phase out single cores then

multi tasking, expand a bit on this (man i make it sound like a demand ) i rarely multi task my pc, either have 1 game or the intenet on

i also hear that chips lose some power i.e. there marked at a 3ghz chip and you get 2.4 out of it, if so how would it work with say the AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core 6400+

and how would it work with general family use (internet, music, home work ect ect ect )
solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: dual core cpu's

1 "chip" 2 "cores" or 4 cores in quads. I actually had task manager open while playing bioshock over the weekend, and to my suprise, it does in fact use multiple cores. Running nothing but bioshock it kept all 4 cores at about 10-25% usage rather than spiking out just one core.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: dual core cpu's

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
ok i am guessing there going to phase out single cores then

multi tasking, expand a bit on this (man i make it sound like a demand ) i rarely multi task my pc, either have 1 game or the intenet on

i also hear that chips lose some power i.e. there marked at a 3ghz chip and you get 2.4 out of it, if so how would it work with say the AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core 6400+

and how would it work with general family use (internet, music, home work ect ect ect )
Multi-tasking is pretty much, self explanatory. Doing more than one task, at a time. If you rarely multi-task, thats ok, because dual cores are very affordable. You can get a dual core, for as low as $70, more or less.

Lose power? Maybe you're referring to the power saving feature. AKA speedstep. But I believe this is only in Intel processors. What it does, is throttle down the CPU speed or power, when not in full use. And when you use a program, thats CPU intensive, the CPU throttles back up, to full speed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: dual core cpu's

ok thanks

might be back with more questions later, thank you either way
solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 01:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: dual core cpu's

cant wait
Nick is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: dual core cpu's

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Multi-tasking is pretty much, self explanatory. Doing more than one task, at a time. If you rarely multi-task, thats ok, because dual cores are very affordable. You can get a dual core, for as low as $70, more or less.

Lose power? Maybe you're referring to the power saving feature. AKA speedstep. But I believe this is only in Intel processors. What it does, is throttle down the CPU speed or power, when not in full use. And when you use a program, thats CPU intensive, the CPU throttles back up, to full speed.
AMD has a similar feature known as AMD Cool & Quiet which does exactly the same thing
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 12:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: dual core cpu's

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
AMD has a similar feature known as AMD Cool & Quiet which does exactly the same thing
ok

any one know any sites that test dual cores and has info about them
__________________

solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.