dual core cpu's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-24-2007, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

Default dual core cpu's

ok i am kind of after knowing about these things

the thing i know about these is there 2 chips in one now i am not into the hardware that much that i could make sense of the technical side of it so here i am asking some one to explain the in's and out's of these in dunce tearms

so a total novice can understand

thanks

Old 09-24-2007, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus

Default Re: dual core cpu's

Dual core processors, have two cores in them. It is now the standard for CPUs, since more and more applications are supporting multi-core CPUs. The advantage over single core processors, is obviously multi-tasking.

3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

Old 09-24-2007, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing

Send a message via MSN to Nick

you may not see a difference in games if you upgraded from a high end athlon or pentium 4 but as B1 said you would in running multiple applications
Old 09-24-2007, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

ok i am guessing there going to phase out single cores then

multi tasking, expand a bit on this (man i make it sound like a demand ) i rarely multi task my pc, either have 1 game or the intenet on

i also hear that chips lose some power i.e. there marked at a 3ghz chip and you get 2.4 out of it, if so how would it work with say the AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core 6400+

and how would it work with general family use (internet, music, home work ect ect ect )
Old 09-24-2007, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie