DUAL core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Default duel core?

if the duel core processor says it runs at 2.13 GHz does that mean that counting two of them it equals 4.26 GHz or does it just mean they run at 1.65 GHz each?
__________________

kvbutler is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

if its rated at 2.13 then each core is rated at 2.13 (least thats how ive interpeted it)

its just like having 2 seperate 2.13ghz processors, but they just mashed them into one chip, decreasing total power cosumption, but as a result of 2 heat generating devices in such close contact they tend to generate more heat than a single core processor.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

First off it's DUAL, not DUEL. Second they do not stack, so it does not equal 4.26 GHz.

They are both at 2.13 GHz.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

third, your math sucks. 2x1.65=3.3 not 2.13.

a dual core is unbelieveably straight forward. a dual core processor is two cores each running at the advertised speed. they do not add up. frequency just does not work like that. think of cars. two engines running at 3000RPM are still only two engines at 3000RPM, not 6000RPM. the two cars can however go two different places at the same time.......
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 05:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

well said
kmarshall is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Since it seems that the O.P has the question answered, can I ask one?


I bought a laptop with a Single Core Centrino.

Did I make a big big mistake?

I really don't use the computer for anything hardcore.. mainly work, internet, etc.
SteveMKIIDub is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Then you're good. Working on applications and internet are not demanding.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.