Dual Channel in ZNF-150? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default Dual Channel in ZNF-150?

I've noticed that ever since my upgrade to the Chaintech ZNF-150 + AMD 64 3400+ that I have been booting up slower. I noticed this after installing Norton as well. As before it would boot up (seriously) in 10 seconds. BUT when I had my AMD 2600+ with an Epox 8RDA+ That had Norton as well and it booted up faster. Is this because of the dual channel? Because I know my Epox had it, but I don't see anywhere in my manual that the ZNF-150 has dual channel. I'm kind of annoyed that my system sometimes runs slower and boots up slower than I remember before the upgrade. I just have a feeling it's because the dual channel thing isn't supported or something wierd about Norton. Oh and I have used the SiSoftware and tested my cpu and it is running correctly.. Here is a pic, my cpu is a Newcastle



I disabled Norton and I noticed that everything runs faster than lightning. How can Norton stoop my performace so much. I mean now it runs a lot faster as if I actually had an upgrade. Much faster before the upgrade. Wierd to think Norton affects this computer a lot more than it did before. I have yet to try Norton disabled when I boot though.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Anyone? Please?
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Are you guys stumped or lazy? ;p
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 05:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Well if you are saying that the mobo you upgraded to doesnt support dual chanel, and you were running dual channel on the old one, then i would say thats the problem. If you can still return it, i'd say get a mobo that supports dual chanel. Take a look at the ABIT mobos, theyre nice.
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 05:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Are you guys stumped or lazy? ;p
little bit from column A, little bit from column B

In my experience norton is a system hog, perhaps you have some setting different now or something along those lines.

It's a socket 754 CPU and board though dude, Socket 754 doesn't support dual channel at all.

Quote:
Well if you are saying that the mobo you upgraded to doesnt support dual chanel, and you were running dual channel on the old one, then i would say thats the problemc
Not quite, dual channel doesn't make THAT kind of performance difference dude, it's minimal at best.

Quote:
If you can still return it, i'd say get a mobo that supports dual chanel. Take a look at the ABIT mobos, theyre nice.
He'd need a socket 939 board and new CPU to do that
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

why would he need a socket 939 to do that?
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Wow, that's rediculous that a socket 754 wouldn't support dual channel. What a waste. Oh well, atleast I can replace it once I get my tax return money. Too bad most of the boards Iwant don't support AGP. How dumb to jump to pci-e so soon.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Ok, so I was looking at some motherboards. I picked out an Asus first because they are one of the best mobo's out.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-510&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...123-230&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-263&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=1

What do you think? I know there are some other brands out, but these are the ones I have mainly heard about.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
why would he need a socket 939 to do that?
Because as I said, 754 doesn't support dual channel and he can't exactly get a 'board that supports dual channel' without getting a new socket 939 board which would also require a new CPU.


Quote:
Wow, that's rediculous that a socket 754 wouldn't support dual channel.
It's one of those things you're supposed to research before buying a new mobo and CPU

When the new AMD64's were first coming out this was always discussed about how it'd generally be better just to pay a little more and go and 939

Quote:
I picked out an Asus first because they are one of the best mobo's out.
They aren't the best by far man. Their quality has gone straight down hill in recent years.

Out of those you listed I'd go with MSI. I've built an AMD64 for someone before and suggested that board to them. It was an awesome board with a good amount of options in the BIOS too if you ever care to OC.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Why would I need a new cpu? I have a amd 64 3400+, these are supported by 939.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.