Dual channel RAM - Will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2005, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default Dual channel RAM - Will this work?

I currently have this in my computer - 1 stick:

Manufacturer: Corsair
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 2-3-3-6
Support Voltage: 2.75V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: 64M x 64 -Bit



If I got one stick of what is below, will dual channal work, or do I need to get another stick of the PRO stuff.

Manufacturer: Corsair
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 2-3-3-6 1T
Support Voltage: 2.6V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: 64M x 64 -Bit

__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

the top one will get downclocked to whatever the other one runs at, you would be better off buying the same type... and im not actually sure if it will work in dualchannel, my guess would be no
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Yes, and you need to make sure that your mobo supports dual channel.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

It shouldn't get downclocked because the speed and latencys are exactly the same, right?

Yes, my mobo supports dual channel. I'm not that stupid. I'm just wondering if the two are compatable in dual channal even though they are exactly the same except one is the PRO model and has higher voltage and LEDs on the top.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

if your mobo support dual channel,, i think is should be working
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

No reason it wouldnt. In my old dell, i had a stick of dell generic RAM. I then got a geil value stick. They worked fine together.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

They will work fine. They will configure themselves if all go's well. For myself, i would never have 2 different Ram types/brands working togather, especially in dual channel.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 02:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

LoL, nothing will lower itself. They will work fine.
__________________

McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.