Dual channel ram Not reading right! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2005, 12:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default Dual channel ram Not reading right!

Hi, im using OCZ PC 3200 2 x 256mb dual channel platinum edition, if you notice in the pic below it say im using a single channel.Does anyone know why, and what i can d?

__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are you sure that mobo supports dual channel? I looked it up and it didn't look like it. The mobo controls dual channel. Memory is only rated at being able to run in dual channel mode.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's socket 754 dude. 754 doesn't support dual channel at all.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

so does that mean my 2 ram stick are running independantly ?
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Yes they are running independantly. Those dual channel rams have specific Memory slots. They have 2 sets of 1 color and 2 sets of another so be it green and yellow spread by distiance see diagram


green | yellow|green|yellow

Thats how it works. And your mobo doesnt support it and if I were you tke those ram stick back because you blew alot of $$ on something you really cant take advantage of.
AT2005 is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AT2005
Yes they are running independantly. Those dual channel rams have specific Memory slots. They have 2 sets of 1 color and 2 sets of another so be it green and yellow spread by distiance see diagram


green | yellow|green|yellow

Thats how it works. And your mobo doesnt support it and if I were you tke those ram stick back because you blew alot of $$ on something you really cant take advantage of.
A friend built this computer for me for $300 with the sony flat panel, So im not worried about the money, Im just dissapointed i cant get the full potential from my memory.
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's the mobo and the processor that aren't supporting it. That's why people always suggest going to Socket 939 and not 754 because 939 supports dual channel plus AMD will keep it up to date and continue supporting it unlike 754
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
It's the mobo and the processor that aren't supporting it. That's why people always suggest going to Socket 939 and not 754 because 939 supports dual channel plus AMD will keep it up to date and continue supporting it unlike 754
Yes that too, I would go with AMD because I support it for gaming. And its the most desired socket by my clients. Which are gaming frieks, jk lol. You could always sell it as refurbished to a store they probably might give you 65% back on it. Its kind of a shame too.
__________________

AT2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.