Dual Channel ram Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default Dual Channel ram Motherboard

this sounds dumb, theres some motherboards w/ 4 ram slots and there are 2 different colors, what gives? if i only want to fill 2 slots do i fill the 2 of the same color first? which 2 do i fill first? also does both ram chips have to be the same size for each pair


some guy said " it doesent matter"
__________________

Naga is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You need to fill the 2 same color slots to use dual channel. both sticks need to be exactly the same speed, size and preferably brand.

its won't run in dual channel when using 3 sticks.
you can use 4 sticks in dual channel if you motherboard supports it.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

which ones do i fill first tho? does it matter?
Naga is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

they are labled ..bank 0 .. bank 1
fill bank 0 first
on some mobos it does matter:amazed:
there is a standard now and the colors do mean which is whic , just in case you cant read the mobo lettering.
if you have the direction handy i suggest looking up what it says !
if not then maby someone here can tell you the color code ok?
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.