Dual Channel Ram, Mixing Speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default Dual Channel Ram, Mixing Speeds

Hey, I am currently running my computer on a mobo that only supports 333mhz ram. I am upgrading to MSI PT880-LSR, which supports 4 sticks instead of the 2 my mobo right now does and supports 400 mhz ram. (I have a p4 2.8ghz f.y.i)

I am going to purchase a stick of 512 mb ram 400 mhz, should i dual channel with the 512 400mhz on channel a and the 2 256 333 mhz on b or what?

also, will having 333 mhz running with 400, i have heard that the 400 will run at 333 mhz, is it better to have 512 at 4000 or 1gb at 333?
__________________

crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

the 400 will downclock to 333mhz
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

even if they are on different channels?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yes, your computer can only run as fast as it's slowest part, so it will underclock everything to the speed of the slowest stick.
Him is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Ok here are my system specs:

Pentium 4, 2.8 Ghz
2x 256 mb ram 333mhz
1x 512 400 mhz
PNY nVidia Geforce 5200
60 gb hd

The only games I play are city of heros and americas army, Would I be better off with 512 mb 400 mhz or 1gb 333mhz?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

1GB at 333. You already are going to be held back by your video card, so best to circumvent that problem as best as possible with more RAM. However, that second 512 wont be in dual channel. Get another 512 stick @400mhz and slap that in there and take out the 2x256.
Him is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

whats wrong with a 5200 w/ 128 mb?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It's old and crappy man, no offense. That card is tired. It may be good for the only two games you play, but bleh, it's even detrimental to overall performance. But go with more RAM than faster RAM, that is optimal in this situation.
Him is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

And since the clock speeds do not match it will not run in the dual channel mode. It will run single channel and the 400 will run backward compliant to 333.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

actually if i am correct the 2 256 sticks should run in dual channel if configured correctly and the 512 in single...

-Aaron
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.