Dual-Channel Ram Latency - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 02:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Dual-Channel Ram Latency

Hi, I have got two rams with me now, one is a Kingston 512MB DDR 266Mhz, and another one is a Kingston 512MB DDR 333Mhz. Generally they are the same specs but with different latency. So is it advisable to dual-channel them even though they have different latency? Coz what I heard was that the 333Mhz will run at the lower speed of 266Mhz, but the main thing is whether will it cause harm to my pc
__________________

LiangZzZ is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

uh, they're different speed; i'm almost sure you can't run two different sticks in dual channel

that's why it's called "dual," not "running two different sticks"
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You can try and underclock the PC2700, but goodluck getting it to run in dual channel
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.