Dual Channel Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Dual Channel Ram

Alright heres the story building a new system and heres the ram I'm looking at and likeing.

"Corsair TwinX Dual Channel 512x2 pc3200 400mhz OverClocked ram"

It is 129.99 and I have a link to it, so you can tell me if timings seem ok....

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...=C13-5102%20PT


Anyway the real question was. My new board is the DFI LanParty UT Ultra-D nForce 4 Chipset. It has 4 ram slots, and there are 2 sets on the board seperated in groups of 2, each group has 2 different colors... Does this mean that I have dual channel ram capabilities? Or how would I do this if I bought that ram, would I put one stick on the one color on a group and the other stick on the opposite group but on the same color? Is that dual channel? Or,,, how does this work some information would be great... Thanks
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default

dont know if you can tell like that. if its socket 939 it supports dual channel memory. i read a review on newegg that said that ram didnt work w/ that mobo. not sure if its true or not though
__________________

soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

well it is 939 but how do you know if it can do dual channel ram or not. things are to hard these days.... lol
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The DFI board is colour friendly, dual channel would either be Y1 and Y2, or O1 and O2.

I will be frank with you, Corsair disgusts me and are in my opinion the most overrated company around. I have better recommendations however without knowing whether you wish to overclock or not I can't tell you.

I will however suggest a set of BH-5 chips, they will overclock to 270MHz easy and with about 3.7v will do 1.5-2-2-5 easy. You'll need to rig up some active cooling over them but it's well worth the trouble. Not to mention BH-5 is dirt cheap.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

BH-5 is cheaper and better for DFI boards
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Ok sounds good. I'll look into that. I have the slightest clue on how to OC ram I just saw the caption OPTIMIZED FOR GAMING. So I figured I'll try it.... I dunno,
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.