dual channel ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2004, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Question dual channel ram

hey there i want to get 2x512 dual channel and have a 256 stick what effect will it have on the smaller stick or should i leave it out
__________________

philo67 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

just stick with the two chips in dual channel. streaming that **** with the 256 mb will slow it down.
__________________

ChipX is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

If you want to run in dual channel and you want to buy two 512MB sticks, you will have to leave it out. I belive you can run with different size sticks if you do the following:

Memory Slot 1 - 256 MB
Memory Slot 2 - 256 MB
This would be the first channel

Memory Slot 3 - 512 MB
This would be the second channel.

The channels must balance in terms of the size of the memory.

As for mixing memory, I have a question about that myself. I have two sticks of 256 MB high performance Corsair memory and I was wondering if I could pair those with a stick of 512MB Kingston HyperX memory to run in dual channel. I dunno.
__________________
Gimpycow
gimpycow is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No the brands and sizes must match. Yes I have heard of the RAM running in dual channel using 2x256 on Channel A and one 512mb stick on Channel B but I think that's generally pretty rare. Also you HAVE to use the same make and brand of RAM with exact timings and everything. From what I've gathered dual channel can be picky at times, and others you could possibly get lucky.

But for the most part gimpy I highly doubt you'll be able to get two different brand names especially to work out.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gimpycow
If you want to run in dual channel and you want to buy two 512MB sticks, you will have to leave it out. I belive you can run with different size sticks if you do the following:

Memory Slot 1 - 256 MB
Memory Slot 2 - 256 MB
This would be the first channel

Memory Slot 3 - 512 MB
This would be the second channel.

The channels must balance in terms of the size of the memory.

my 256 stick would work in a DC mode like that SOOOO i get a 256+512 and it would opperate that way

how would i get it to work like that or does it config somehow??
philo67 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks Nubios. That is what I figured but I don't want to buck up for 2 sticks of 512MB DDR. If I do, I will feel like I wasted my current memory...which wasn't cheap...
__________________
Gimpycow
gimpycow is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

man you guys post fast
philo67 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

lol
__________________
Gimpycow
gimpycow is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

no the gimpy cow is wrong man. dont listen to that cat. you gotta stick the two chips in the corresponing dimms. having two chips streamed in dual channel and one in single is pointless.
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChipX
just stick with the two chips in dual channel. streaming that **** with the 256 mb will slow it down.

guess he had it huh
__________________

philo67 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.