Dual channel question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2010, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Dual channel question.

So I'm rebuilding an Acer desktop for my brother and I have 2 sets of ram. Well one set is 3gb but they don't match so it would be single channel. That's what originally came from Acer for some stupid reason. The other set is 2gb dual channel.

Which will benefit him more?

both sets are the same speed.

He's using this for light gaming G-mod, Starcraft, etc.
and picture/video editing. Vegas Pro, CS 5, etc.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dual channel question.

I would use the 2GB dual channel. An extra Gig doesn't really do a whole lot when not in dual channel.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Dual channel question.

More ram. The programs for picture and video editing will use more ram more because even though 2gb in dual will have more bandwidth whatever cant fit in ram goes to the slow HDD pagefile.

If its 3 sticks for 3gb then just add another stick for 4gb.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Dual channel question.

I vote more ram over more bandwidth, because when that 2gb gets filled, you end up using the pagefile, a lot.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Dual channel question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
More ram. The programs for picture and video editing will use more ram more because even though 2gb in dual will have more bandwidth whatever cant fit in ram goes to the slow HDD pagefile.

If its 3 sticks for 3gb then just add another stick for 4gb.
It's 2 sticks so what I'll probably do is buy another 2gb stick to match the one for his birthday or something.
Sadly we couldn't fit getting a mobo with 4 RAM slots into the budget but I'm sure 3gb and than 4gb will do him fine.

But I thought along the same lines since he wants to use Vegas, ram amount is really what's important.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual channel ram question teknikull System Upgrades 4 07-29-2006 08:52 AM
2 dual channel question redxdeath System Upgrades 1 05-03-2006 08:34 AM
Dual Channel question dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-29-2006 11:22 AM
Dual channel and ram question CBerger Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-24-2005 08:32 PM
Dual Channel ram question badkitty Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-10-2004 06:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.