Dual Channel Memory.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Dual Channel Memory..

Hi.. I am having trouble making my dual channel memory run in Dual Channel Mode in the bios. I have an ASRock P4V88 Motherboard and 2x512 MB DDR400 Dual channel Ram sticks in 1 first and third memory sockets. If you could help.. that would be greatly appreciated. thx.
__________________

d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

What is the trouble that you speak of?
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You don't set it in the bios, it will run dual channel automatically if in the right slots.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Does your motherboard support dual channel?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

yes this is a dual channel motherboard and the two sticks are in banks 1 and 3 which are the blue ones and the other two are black.. but in the bios is still says its in dual channel mode. Im pretty sure this is dual channel ram.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

RAM is not dual channel. Your motherboard is what determines if you can run RAM in dual channel mode.

Go to www.cpuid.com and download CPU-Z Go to the memory tab in CPU-Z and that will tell you if you are running in dual channel.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

thanks.. ill try it.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 03:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

All that did was tell me that im running in Single channel mode.. which i already know.. I just need to know why my ram isnt running in dual-channel mode.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 03:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just because you have 2 sticks of RAM does not mean it will run dual channel. If the latency timings and or speeds are different on the sticks, it most likely will not run in dual channel.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 03:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

the sticks are both identical.
__________________

d4rkn355 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.