dual channel low lateny ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default dual channel low lateny ram

hey guys jsut a quick question to anyone that knows:

Im trying to decide on my next upgrade, and im thinking about going for the ram. Now, im wondering whether upgrading to 2 512Mb sticks of Corsair XML DDR-3200 Low Latency (in dual channel) is worth it or not? Ive always used cheap generic ram, as its very cheap and has always been reliable to me. Now if i bought these 2 sticks of ram, it would cost quite a bit. Im wondering if it would be worth buying ram this good for about 500-600 dollars, or just stick with the ram ive got (single channel, 512Mb generic) and sink the money into a different upgrade???

Any ideas or experience would be appreciated thanks
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

meh i dont like corsair my self i would go with OCZ it should only cost like no more than 250$ for that it will be kicka** ram or GEIL is a nother good brand should cost about the same
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default Re: dual channel low lateny ram

Quote:
Originally posted by sithspawn
hey guys jsut a quick question to anyone that knows:

Im trying to decide on my next upgrade, and im thinking about going for the ram. Now, im wondering whether upgrading to 2 512Mb sticks of Corsair XML DDR-3200 Low Latency (in dual channel) is worth it or not? Ive always used cheap generic ram, as its very cheap and has always been reliable to me. Now if i bought these 2 sticks of ram, it would cost quite a bit. Im wondering if it would be worth buying ram this good for about 500-600 dollars, or just stick with the ram ive got (single channel, 512Mb generic) and sink the money into a different upgrade???

Any ideas or experience would be appreciated thanks
500-600 dollars what currency are you talking about? I'll sell mine for 300 cdn and it is worth it cuz it's faster and you push it harder plus life time warranty.
Senseis is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

what do you plan on doing? multitasking or gaming?

if you're multitasking or video editing or something like that, then go into memory . . . corsair xms 3200xl ram with 2-2-2-5 timings is about $280 for 1GB in 2 512 sticks

if you're gaming, then a good video card is what matters . . . if you're talking about US$500, then get an nVidia 6800GT or x800 pro . . .

if you want about US$300, then get a 6800 or 9800 pro
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Sounds like Ozy bucks, mate.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

yeah. definately from aus.

basically that means you can just multiple what things are worth in america by about 1.5-2 times

and yeah im a gamer, but i already have a good video card (Radeon 9800 Pro). See, the geforece 6800 isnt even out in aus yet and the x800XT is $990 so im not ognna be getting that anytime soon
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.