Dual Channel For A64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default Dual Channel For A64

Is it true that not having dual channel ram installed with Athlon 64 processors will severely limit the speed of the processor? simple question. thanks in advance.
__________________

kafka is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It won't severely decrease performance, however dual channel is still a good idea due to its decreased latency and increased speed and performance.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i don't have duel...havn't noticed anything severly wrong with it...
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

well... my FX-55 is producing only like 2/3 of its speed on benchmarks compared with other FX-55s. When I asked around the tech forums, people told me that having dual channel ram would remedy the problem...
kafka is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

With Dual Channel enabled, the memory's bandwidth will be 6.4 Gb/s. Single Channel is 3.2 Gb/s.
SanToast is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CntdwnToExtn
i don't have duel...havn't noticed anything severly wrong with it...
Well, if you don't have duel, how do you know that it won't perform better??
Chankama is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Get dual for your fx-55, it wont affect the processor, but on system wide benchmarks it will.

Also, the people with the really fast fx-55's are also probolly overclockers.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
Well, if you don't have duel, how do you know that it won't perform better??
i wasn't sayin' that it wouldn't run better...i was just sayin' that from my experience with runnin' games and stuff that is seems to run fine.... haha
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Um.. I never said things dont run fine, in fact they run well just not as well as they are supposed to. By the way, the benchmarks I ran (sisoft, 3d mark and cpu mark) all tested my cpu separately and that was the low score I was referring to not the sysem wide performance.

Santoast:

So having 6.4 bandwidth would make cpu run more efficiently right?
kafka is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

kafka, when benchmarking, you will notice about a 40% increase in performance with dual channel.
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.