Dual Channel???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2005, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Default Dual Channel????

Okay so I recently upgraded my processor and mobo to the socket 939 3200+ and the abit AV8. I have two sticks of pc-3200 ram at 512mb each for a total of 1gb. When I put them in dual channel mode, it recognizes that it is dul channel but it looks as if it is reading the ram at 200mhz speed, not the normal 400mhz that pc-3200 speed should be in. Here is what it says upon the post screen:

Memory Information: DDR 200 Dual Channel Enabled, 128-bit
Memory Clock is DDR 200

If I bump the speed up in BIOS i get errors after 1 second running memtest86 and prime 95
I was thinking that maybe it splits it up and is really running it at 400mhz, but my previous mobo always showed it as running at 400 so I am a bit confused. Any ideas???

tooltgle is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684

the base speed is 200MHz...the memory chips use a multiplier of 2x and that is how you get 400MHz. Leave it at 200.



My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans

My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

DDR means double data rate so 200mhz is effectivly 400mhz.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

Yep, Finished.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49

that is good to hear but then why would it run at DDR400 in my other computer on the POST screen
tooltgle is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

It's just your mobo's "virtual" display issue i.e., tell you its running as expected in multiplier 2x. As said above you have a 2x multiplier wiht DDR mem. Forget about it...you're good to go!
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49

just curious. certainly good to hear that my ram is running right tho
tooltgle is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847

i'm running OCZ duel channel ram its pretty good.
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

yep, good old ddr. what is the difference between ddr and ddr2 then? is it just a bigger multiplier?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

there is no 'multiplier' in RAM...it's because it does work during both the up and down cycles, that's where it gets the fact that 200MHz is effectively DDR400.

DDR2 just has higher frequencies, looser timings, and way less voltage to run.

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.