Dual channel - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 03:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

No. You're getting SIZE and 'SPEED' mixed up. These are not the same.

For example: 512 MB (size) of PC3200 RAM ('speed')

The size means your computer can store more information in the RAM instead of having to access it off the hard drive (which is very inefficient)

The 'speed' I mention is the bandwidth, or how much information can be transferred in one second. So if you had PC3200 and PC2700 mixed together, your system would run at PC2700 settings.

Also, don't mix memory brands or sizes in dual channel. This will save you and others a headache. With that board you have I would recommend getting a 2 x 512 MB DDRII 400 memory kit and leave it at that. Sell whatever you have left over or put it in another rig you might have.
__________________

Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 03:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

There are different definitions of speed for RAM, but let's just keep it simple for now
__________________

Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

There is no 240 pin memory that is 400 available at newegg.com.
Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Here's some I believe

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&order=PRICE
Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Actually, that board supporst DDRII 533. Get some of that instead.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property
Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

I was looking at this stuff, which one of those would you prefer and can my mobo even support it?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145539
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227046
Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 04:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

I'm not really sure if it would support it or not. I see no reason why those wouldn't work. They'd just be initially bumped down from 667 to 533. I think they would give you good overhead for overclocking up to 667 speeds.

Don't take what I just said as gospel. Get some more input from people in the Overclocking forum on this question.
Plifzig is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

alright i'll try there, thanks for your help. That ocz stuff has the same thing but at 533 and 30$ cheaper, could i save myself 30$ and get that and it would be the exact same thing?
Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default

You probably couldn't overclock it as easily. Again, I'm no OC expert.
__________________

Plifzig is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.