Dual AMD XP vs AMD 64-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2004, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Default Dual AMD XP vs AMD 64-bit

I am looking to buy a new system. Wondering whether it's worth the money getting the new 64 bit AMD chip or possibly building a dual AMD XP system.

Any input?

MarkVDBERK is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247

they do not make dual cpu motherboards for the AMD XP ( as far as i know). You would have to go with the AMD MP. Which are not bad. But another option to look at would be the Opteron. If money is a factor, you could consider getting a dual opteron board and when prices come down or you save up the money get the second CPU. I do not know enough about the MP series, im not even sure they are 64 bit compatible. But i hear that the amd 64 will have an amd 4000 out by 3rd quarter and they are not planing on changing the socket anytime soon. Either are good setups, just depends on what you plan on doing with them as to your needs.


i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

i've heard of dual mobos that will accept normal XP processors. if i were getting a dual mobo i would get that. MP processors are too expensive. also you do not have to install 2 processors for the dual mobo to work, 1 proc is enough and you can install another identical proc later. both procs must be exactly identical.

what are you using this for? i hope you understand having dual proc mobos will not neccesarity make your programs run twice faster or your games either. the game or program must be able to take advantage of threading (i think thats the term). an example i think is the quake game and probably all 3D animation programs used for rendering still frame and animation.

my recommendation is since it cost the same amount of money to buy a dual proc comp you should just have 2 comps instead. makes it much more flexible and there is not a single point of failure. think about it, having dual comps instead of dual proc........
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-19-2004, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207

I would go with the 64 as you may not get all the performance out of the daul proc.. for certan apps but i may be a bit bias...
amd643200+ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.