DSL not detected (phone jack problem?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to Toshiro Send a message via Yahoo to Toshiro
Default DSL not detected (phone jack problem?)

Okay, here's the problem. My girlfriend can't connect to her DSL service. I tried her comp, modem and wires and everything at my house (same exact ISP), and it works fine. But at her house, it wont work. Her mom wont let her use any of the phone jacks from other rooms, so I can't test out my only theory: could it be that the phone jack doesn't work with the DSL line? It works fine for regular phone stuff as far as I know, but the modem's "DSL" light doesn't come on, and her connection manager wont connect.

Just wondering if using a different jack might work, as we don't wanna make a lot of trouble getting her mom to let her set up a split line to her room if it's not going to even work.
__________________

__________________
Make: eMachines
OS: WinXP Pro
Mobo: Gigabyte 8VM533M-RZ
CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Celeron
Vid: Gigabyte NVidia MX 4000 (128 MB DDR, TV out)
Sound: onboard
RAM: 512MB DDR
HD: 40GB (1:3 partitioned), 34GB
Drives: DVD R/RW and 16x DVD-ROM
Browser: FireFox
ISP: AT&T/SBC Yahoo! DSL
Toshiro is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Loading... Answer the phone..."

This might have allot to do with her Phone jack Compressor. Those things they tell you to connect to every phone jack you use. and the company you got it from usually gives you allot of them... Try switching them.
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 02:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to Toshiro Send a message via Yahoo to Toshiro
Default

Well the package came with what SBC calls "filters"... they separate the frequencies so you can use both the DSL connection and normal phone line at the same time, right? Yeah, she's got a bunch, I'll switch them out next time I'm over there, and if that doesn't solve anything I guess I'll go ahead and see if her mom will let me run a line from another jack (she doesn't want it looking 'tacky').
__________________
Make: eMachines
OS: WinXP Pro
Mobo: Gigabyte 8VM533M-RZ
CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Celeron
Vid: Gigabyte NVidia MX 4000 (128 MB DDR, TV out)
Sound: onboard
RAM: 512MB DDR
HD: 40GB (1:3 partitioned), 34GB
Drives: DVD R/RW and 16x DVD-ROM
Browser: FireFox
ISP: AT&T/SBC Yahoo! DSL
Toshiro is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 02:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "...Oh! you're still here?..."

Allso keep in mind, that if she used to have a 56K modem, that she needs to hook one on that too...
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

perhaps there is more than one fone number in the house and the telco hooked the dsl to the wrong number(*line*) - take the dslmodem and filter to the other jack and see if the dsl works then... if it does, call the telco and ask them to move it to the other number....
Note - dsl filters need to be installed on all of the phones hooked up to the line - not just the one that the dsl modem is on... thats Y they give U so many of them...
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Because the connection is DSL, you have to put those filters on every telephone in the house. She probably has a couple of filters which came with her service.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I just remembered that i had this problem once, and it was because there was a telephone in the basement and i forgot to put a filter on it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.