a DRRRRRR situation.....PS cables wont reach MoBo!! HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to GasganoFJ60
Unhappy a DRRRRRR situation.....PS cables wont reach MoBo!! HELP!

Ok....i bought the new AeroCool Spirlal series case for my new pc project. Its an inverted case. MoBo is reversed and upside down...blah blah blah...anyhow....cause of this...the mobo and CPU cables from the PS wont reach the board!! How stupid is that? The PS came with adapters to convert the 20pin to a 24pin and the 4pin to a 8pin...so I was thinking of just getting some 24pin-20pin and 8pin-4pin to make the distance....that should work ok shouldnt it? Another question, where can I find these adapters. I can find the 24-20, but no 8-4. Anyone know where I can pick these up? Anyone have any bright ideas?
__________________

GasganoFJ60 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

www.newegg.com
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^that doesnt answer his question.

Check to see if they make extensions. I am sure they do. I would check your local computer store or search on newegg.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
^that doesnt answer his question.
Yeah it did. He asked where he could find cables, and Elbatrop1 pointed him to NewEgg.com. I'm sure GasganoFJ60 can take it from there.

As for my O on this topic, I suppose the double extension will work, but I personally wouldn't do it. Not only is more connectors a pain, but I'm wondering what the length extension will do to the ability for the PSU and mobo to effectively provide and manage the power of the system. BTW, it seems strange to me that, given the fact that most PSU's have a cable-length standard, that a case manuf would build a case where they new the PSU cables wouldn't reach the connections for the mobo. Sounds fishy to me.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to GasganoFJ60
Default ive tried

Yeah, Ive tried looking for extensions for them. I managed to find one...ONE...site that has them for sale...the exact ones I need(Antron.com) but the people working there arent much help in getting an order through. And all my local computer guys Ive checked with either tell me to get a smaller case or a new PS, or they stare at me like I just asked them to eat their own faces. Ill try NewEgg, though.
thanks.
GasganoFJ60 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Buy the molex connectors and make the wires yourself. It's a common practice among modders and not difficult to do. Just don't burn your house down with faulty wiring.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

try www.svc.com they generally have adapters and whatnot really cheap compared to other sites
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I'd stare at you funny too if you told me to eat my own face. Unless your ment Feces, then i'd punch you in the face.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Quote:
Just don't burn your house down with faulty wiring.
LOL. Switch to CNN: Breaking News! Local Man Burns house down while wiring his PC. HAHAHA. lol. Man recieves 1st degree burns at the hands.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

you can just et cables like 4-pin Adapters, they should extend the length, I remember getting an Octtopus Cable off of Ebay quite awhile back that added alot more connectors plus length
__________________

__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.