Drivers... Dell... 8600M... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Ok, so today I found out that I need a newer patch from Nvidia in order to play Diablo II LOD, well, I have a Dell Vostro 1500 with the 8600M GT, come to find out, Nvidia doesn't support the laptop 8600M GT, and the Dell driver that they have for download is almost half a year old... Nvidia claims that they don't have any drivers available for it... So, what should I do???
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

I take it the mobile cards can't use the standard drivers?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Nope, there is a warning on the Nvidia website saying not to install them... And the last time I did, I couldn't run ANY 3dgame... So it seems there mobile cores are quite different...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Try patching diablo II, because thats a really really old game (2000).
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Oh, by the way, did I mention that I have Vista??? Anyways, turns out it is a major thing, a lotta vista users are having issues getting diablo 2 to run at a decent rate... And I thought Diablo 2 was like 98 or 99??? And I do have the latest patch for the game, 1.11.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

It wont run cause its not meant to run on vista, its meant for 98/me/2000/xp, the game is simply too old lol, i think its time to move on.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Never! Dual Boot And Play Diablooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 10:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

I will never give up on Diablo, there won't be a new version till Blizzard North comes back so.... Anyways, I can't dual boot, they don't make damned SATA drivers for xp to use on this friggen laptop... I swear...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

I would say youre sol, but that would be rude. What about a virtual machine? Thats about all you can do, i liked diablo II also but they need to come out with a modern version.

Yo, download and install the nvidia omega drivers, the work on laptops as i just updated mine and got a 3x performance boost!!
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 09:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Drivers... Dell... 8600M...

Could you give me a link, and are they vista capable?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell laptop video driver compatibility issue shonoluv Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 11:10 PM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.