Drivers - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2011, 09:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Drivers

so do not check the nvidia chipset box, only the display and physx boxes?
__________________

acerinpa is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 09:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Drivers

The chipset drivers are for your motherboard, not your graphics card.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Drivers

Thanks again- now I can try the 5770 video card in my old HP machine - it failed to work before- pretty sure it was a driver issue with both the ATI and the nvida drivers on the same machine. OK - one more time:

#1 physically remove Nvida card ( 8600gts) from the machine.
#2 then reboot to safe mode.
#3 open up driver sweeper and check the display and physX boxes and "clean"
#4 shut down
#5 install Ati GPU card ( 5770)
#6 Reboot - hopefully the ATI drivers will auto load.
#7 Go to ATI website and update drivers.

#8= ENJOY playing games without lag,etc. Y- E-A-H
acerinpa is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Drivers

Your welcome.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 12:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Drivers

No, drivers wouldn't keep the card from working.

You sure the factory power supplies up to the tsask of the 5770? It takes a bunch more power than a 8600 card.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Drivers

Have replaced the PSU with an OCZ fatality 550 watt. So, power should not be the issue. The 5770 card worked ( as did a 4650 which was also tried) but then would kick me to desktop regularly when playing games or the PC would completely freeze-up. As soon as I popped out the 5770 and replaced with the 8600gts card these problems did not happen- but performance is the issue with the old 8600gt card.
acerinpa is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 03:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Drivers

Okay. The way you said it, sounded like it didn't work at all.

There are known issues with catalyst so that too could be a source of issues.

But yha, this is a driver issue of some sort. Have you watched temps as you strss the card?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 03:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Drivers

I will this time. But at the time I did not really know what i was doing so did not download CPU programs or anything that monitored the heat. I have learned a great deal on this website in the past months. So, hopefully I will be able to get this up and running properly now.
acerinpa is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 03:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Drivers

What motherboard are you running? and have you tried updating the drivers for it? I ask because both cards that have not worked push a lot more data than the 8600 so I am wondering if maybe your mobo drivers are either out of date of corrupt. It's an outside chance but an easy try.

I am also wondering if maybe the PCI-E lanes may be compromised somehow, either by way of a partial short or thermal damage. Again, very slim chance but it does fit the symptoms.

As a recap, uninstall all graphics drivers through the Add/Remove Programs in Windows, boot to safe mode, run DriverSweeper, have it clean out any graphics drivers (Nvidia and ATI), reboot into Windows, then try installing the drivers for whichever card you want to run.

Also, try using CCleaner to lasso in your background apps that launch with Windows. This could all be some kind of resource clash.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Drivers

OK - just when I was feeling confident!! How do you look for new MOBO drivers? The mobo is the original model -but fairly new as I replaced it about one year ago due to it frying when I tried to upgrade to better RAM. I will try to find the thread on asking about upgrading this PC some time ago - info on the HP model etc. is found there. I am at work so cant just look right now. .
__________________

acerinpa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 3000 (760G) Windows 7 drivers/any drivers? 95BlackGA Microsoft Windows and Software 10 06-28-2009 05:48 PM
Ati Drivers VS Nvidia Drivers Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-09-2008 09:03 AM
Drivers STEELERGLENN System Upgrades 1 04-08-2006 07:24 AM
EVGA Drivers Vs Nvidia Drivers JoshSB Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-03-2005 04:42 PM
Installing Drivers, specifically sound card drivers klein1jo New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-22-2005 10:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.