Driver Problem PLEASE Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2003, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Question Driver Problem PLEASE Help

Hello and I am happy to find this forum because I have a problem.
PLEASE help????

My drivers for my DVD and CDRW drives, sound card, and modem (which I dont use) are not working. My device manager tells me this:

"Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)"

I have tried uninstalling them then reinstalling them numerous times with no luck. It just happened all of the sudden. I hadn't made any changes recently. Also my Pinnacle capture card and my GeForce 4 Graphics card do not have this message.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
__________________

8circuts is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Maybe this will help.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...&Product=winxp
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default

No luck. I tried it and it didnt work. Tried to uninstall and reboot and it still didnt work.

Thanks for the help.
8circuts is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

I would try to reinstall windows. Just a reinstall not a clean install. I recently had the same problems with an intergrated sound card that would not work. Reinstalling drivers would not work for anything but a windows reinstall fixed the problem. This happend to me using Windows XP pro.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
Lightbulb Safe mode

Mmm,
Sometimes if you boot in safe mode and delete all the modem drivers, audio drivers and dvd... you reboot and reinstall it will work.

In safe mode you should see all the drivers install in multiple instance and also the deleted driver of older removed hardware witch may cause a certain conflict.

I'm not a 100% sure but I always check that on my side for major drivers problem.
drlosier is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I tried safe mode and it didnt work. Thanks though.

Can you reinstall windows w/o the disc? The windows on my system didnt come with one. I have the product key and it is home edition. I do have professional on disk, but I have no way of backing up files.
8circuts is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
Smile backup

You can borow somebody's cd if you have the key and it is legal.

For backup, you can always "slave" your hard drive in one of your friends pc and copy everything you might need. (If he has a burner, even better you can burn everything )

Good luck!
__________________

drlosier is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.