A drive not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2005, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Angry A drive not working

there is something wrong with this computer and it posts a error that there is something wrong with botting up to instert the system recovery disk but i don't have a recover disk.

then i put in a win 98 boot up disk to clean the hd out but it jsut wants to read ofmr the cd drive and says the a: fails and i have it in the bois that the a: is first but the a: is faili and i don't know what do to. i am open to any suggestions. I have tried to hook up a new floppy disk drive but it still dind't work said it failed again. Thanks a lot
__________________

schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i forgot to say that its a windows 2k home edition.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

has this drive normally worked before? If not, just go into the BIOS and make sure that it is enabled. I suggest that you reformat and go from their, that would be the easiest thing to do, unless you can give up more specifics about that problem and then we can try to solve it.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

ok well here it its a freind computer ..long story short. need it to be fixed i got on it and i had to take to reset the bois cuase he dind't know the master password then when i got on there it said that the boot failed and to but the system recovery disk in and press enter and i do not have that or does he. so i talked to a person and he said that to reformat it and so i got the bootdisk made form bootdisk.com or something like that and when i put it in the ocmputer and start it up i go to the bois command and made sure evething was right and then i saved and exited and then when it came to the floppy drive the said

"floppy disk drive failed (40)

and then when i hit f1 it says error again to but system recovery disk in and hit enter.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.