Is this drive motor bad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2004, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Is this drive motor bad?

I'm trying to diagnose a bad drive, and I noticed a spot on the underneath of the drive motor. I need confirmation if this is a burn, or a normal appearance. Personally, I've never seen one look like this.

You can view the picture here:

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/martyw...drivemotor.jpg

Thanks for all responses.
__________________

martywill is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Umm, sorry, I don't see anything at all on there.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Do you mean you can't load the picture, or you don't notice anything unusual? I was referring to the dark, oval shaped area.
martywill is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

look's normal to me,the glue or what ever it is will make it appear darker.
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
look's normal to me,the glue or what ever it is will make it appear darker.
Yea, I think that's what he meant. It's OK, nothing to worry about

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Well, that is good news. I have it narrowed down to just the logic board then. I was afraid of multiple problems. Thanks guys!
martywill is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

No problem! And welcome to TF!

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.