Drive ate CD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 07:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

is the drive still under warranty? if it is try looking for a way to get it fized. if it is not still under warranty, then start shopping...
on a side note my post count is the same as my old fsb lol :laughing:
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 07:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I've had this computer since about 2000. I'm pretty sure it's not under warranty Oh well, gotta wait for my laptop.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Try going in my computer, right click on the drive and press eject. Maybe the button is messed up.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

that happens to my DVD/RW sometimes, try restarting your comp, it works for me. i think it has some kind of auto lock on it to keep the disk from being ejected durring writing, and if you get an error sometimes it can lock up your drive. Restarting my computer works for me.
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 180Mhz
that happens to my DVD/RW sometimes, try restarting your comp, it works for me. i think it has some kind of auto lock on it to keep the disk from being ejected durring writing, and if you get an error sometimes it can lock up your drive. Restarting my computer works for me.
not just restarting it, totally shutting down, then booting up again. that works for me.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.