The Dreaded Memory Selection!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nubius said:
Well you're comparing $69 for 512mb of Corsair against 1gb of Twinmos for $87, can't beat that with a stick :D

Yes, that is also a huge seller in my book. :D!!

2.9-3v the TwinMOS will easily take and that should allow you to hit 220 with 2.5-3-3-7 timings.

You really need that much voltage to get to 220? Seems like a lot of voltage to me, then again I'm new to memory overclocking (I usually just use a multiplyer to keep my mem at stock)

desiboi said:
Ha, Mercury comparing to a MB, that's real nice...not

Not really comparing... They both have four doors, 4.x liter engines, leather interiors, but the Mercedes is clearly superior.... My guess would e that you get mroe bang for the buck with the Mercury.
Its personal preference wit the RAM too. Somebody might be willing to pay that extra $$ for the name brand ram, that has a guarantee and has that name brand relibility.

alright I have 80$ US and I need 3200 speed 1gb which would be the best hands down NOT OCING

i got a question what does the PC3200 and PC3700 mean like is it just better ram or is it something to do with compatibility and do all motherboards support "newer" ram?

PC3700 just means that it defaults to PC3200 speeds, but you can overclock that ram guartneed

The actual number is the bandwidth the memory can handle.

Here, I'll make you a chart-thing.

DDR266 = 266mhz = PC2100 = 2100mbps
DDR333 = 333mhz = PC2700 = 2700mbps
DDR400 = 400mhz = PC3200 = 3200mbps
(Note, that bandwidth, the last value, is measured in BITS per second, which is different from BYTES. 8 bits = 1 byte.)(LOL and 4 bits = a nibble!)

That's just the 'mainstream' speeds, theres others, such as the PC3700 or PC4000 (etc, etc.) that are rated to work fine at the higher speed, but that higher speed must be set manually.