Draining the PSU ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Draining the PSU ??

Anyone know of a way to drain all the power from a psu? I'm going to be sleeving and adding another fan to my psu,Last time i opened 1 up i got 1 hell of a zap and don't want it to happen again
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

just leave it unplugged.

caps will eventually drain themselves, but of course you could also turn it into a test PSU by making a connection between the correct wires in the main power connector a flipping on the switch with it NOT plugged into the wall...that'll surely drain it.

If you don't know what I mean just look up 'test psu'

better yet go to www.casemodgod.com, the modding 101 section and check out their 'test psu' part
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Thank's Nubius.

I should have thought of that myself,Kind of feel like a dumbass now
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 03:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what I do is unplug it, then with it still in the PC, press the power button of the PC. you'll see the PC start working for a split second, then fade really quickly. that means the PSU is draining.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 03:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah but I don't like zapping power to my components for a brief second....that can't be good for them stress wise

if he just uses a paperclip to turn it into a test PSU, unplug it, and put a fan on it, it'll do the same thing without worrying about any other components.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

apokalipse i'm pretty sure that's what i did with my other psu a while back,There was still enough power to give me one hell of a shock,Dam thing left my arm hurting and tingling for a full day
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
apokalipse i'm pretty sure that's what i did with my other psu a while back,There was still enough power to give me one hell of a shock,Dam thing left my arm hurting and tingling for a full day
Zap yourself more and it won't hurt as much. I can barely notice when I electrocute myself anymore because I do it soo much.

I just turn the PC on while not plugged in, usually works for me
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.