Dotted lines with new graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2004, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default Dotted lines with new graphics card

Hi, I just got an ATI mobilty radeon 9000 IGP, and whenever I play a game, the game's graphics are great, however, I have dotted lines running down the screen. It happens with all the games I play, and only happens in game. Any ideas?

2.8 GHz P5
512 MB ram
ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP 128 MB
__________________

Jmull is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default Re: Dotted lines with new graphics card

Quote:
Originally posted by Jmull
Hi, I just got an ATI mobilty radeon 9000 IGP, and whenever I play a game, the game's graphics are great, however, I have dotted lines running down the screen. It happens with all the games I play, and only happens in game. Any ideas?

2.8 GHz P5
512 MB ram
ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP 128 MB
It is probably either a driver problem, or simply the card isnt powerful enough to run the game you are playing...

what game is it you are playing?

and also, try downloading the latest drivers directly from www.ati.com and see if that helps you.

Good luck!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Well, so far, ive tried Madden 2003, Operation Flashpoint, and Deus Ex 2. But, if the card isnt powerful enough, wouldent that mean some sort of dropoff in speed and graphics. All three games run and look great, other than the dotted lines.
Jmull is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Does anyone know where I can find newer drivers fr my card? I checked the ATI website, and it directed me to my computer manufacturers website, which didnt have the drivers for my model computer.
Jmull is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try driverguide.com
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

Theres your problem right there i dont think p5 exists (lol)
u could try new drivers or return the laptop
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 01:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe the connection between the display and video card is faulty, or getting interference?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 10:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YourPrinter
Theres your problem right there i dont think p5 exists (lol)
u could try new drivers or return the laptop

He's working on a prototype machine.

Dude, why you going to some 2nd party driver site when you can get the ATI driver from their website? I found their support site with no problem. Try this linky.

http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.