Doom 3 Graphics Card! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2004, 06:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default Doom 3 Graphics Card!

I know that Doom 3 uses 256MB of graphics card memory, so my question to you is - which is better for Doom 3, a Sapphire 256MB Radeon 9600XT or a Sapphire 128MB Radeon 9800 Pro?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i would say the 128 9800pro
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 06:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

so would i. funnily enough though, i have a friend with a 9600XT 256Mb ram that claims to be able to run doom 3 better than i can (i have radeon 9800 Pro)

However, after running a couple of tweaks in the doomconfig.cfg file (ie, setting cache mem to 256 and all that) i can run it a lot better than he can.

go the 9800 Pro. Better overall card
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 07:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sithspawn
so would i. funnily enough though, i have a friend with a 9600XT 256Mb ram that claims to be able to run doom 3 better than i can (i have radeon 9800 Pro)

However, after running a couple of tweaks in the doomconfig.cfg file (ie, setting cache mem to 256 and all that) i can run it a lot better than he can.

go the 9800 Pro. Better overall card
or fork out the extra 40$ for the 256 9800pro
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 07:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

good point.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 08:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Haha, I was just curious as of which card to buy for my System 2 - not actually to play Doom 3

System 2 (if you didn't see it when it was in my sig):
Athlon XP2500+ (1.9GHz FSB 172MHz)
512MB DDR344 CAS 2.5
MSI K7N2 motherboard
128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200
80GB Maxtor 7,200rpm 8MB Cache (soon to be RAID -0, 160GB)
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 08:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

yer, get the 9800XT only $40 more! and i would choose the 9800Pro
Vortexkrow is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 08:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

For the prices of our 9800XT's I might as well get a X800 Pro, the places I buy from are great for the latest technology, but their prices don't drop very fast.

Does anyone know a UK online hardware shop that is cheap but still provides good customer support?
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Hmm...!? There are online computer stores that provide good customer support?!? WoW...I need to check this out!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 38
Default

I have a 128MB 5200 GeForce 4. Is it good for the minimum requirements for D3 ?
__________________

walid97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.