Doom 3 graphical errors (?) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 02:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yea, get a hold of NVIDIA, because your card shouldn't be having the Doom 3 problems you are experiencing.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 02:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Some games just tear more than others. It all comes down to the engine.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 02:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

didnt u guys notice he only posted his vid card spec, none of his system specs.. he might be ona Athlon XP 2600+
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 04:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

OK, I've put my basic specs up in my sig (will be expanded sometime).

As you can see I'm using a TFT. Do you think TFT's in general have (more) problems with image tearing?

btw I'll be looking to upgrade my CPU and MoBo towards the end of the year, depending...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 05:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

yea its prolly just your monitor.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

either that or the fact you got an XFX brand 6800....I have read nothing but people having troubles with that brand of card. I would suggest eVGA if you were gonna buy a graphics card. It could be something to that nature.....like I said, you're like the 4th person to ask if something is up with their XFX GeForce 6800 card =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
you're like the 4th person to ask if something is up with their XFX GeForce 6800 card =/
lol Well I've already posted about my 6800 GT here at least once before, so knowing my luck I've probably got a dud card
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Man, I hate even hearing that cause I hate it when it happens to me :/ sucks man. Sounds like XFX just haven't perfected making their cards or something.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You can either enable Verticle Sync and lower the image quality to make up for the loss in performance, or deal with the image tearing. Those are your only two options.

There is nothing wrong with your video card. The reason the tearing is so bad in Doom3, is because of the engine's poor architecture and the frame limit.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Bearing in mind though that I've got no other problems with anything: the card cuts through Far Cry for example. It's probably just my CPU bottlenecking my GPU. YES, Doom 3 is (so I understand) more GPU-orientated than CPU, but nevertheless, surely with a superior processor I'd get better performance?

EDIT: agex000, now come on, since when did John Carmack & co. start to produce a BAD game engine?... Never, imho.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.